The School of Social Science was established in 2013 and consists of the Departments of Social Anthropology, Sociology and Psychology.

The primary aim of the School is to develop Social Sciences at an interdisciplinary level and foster partnerships between Departments and their subject fields.

The various sciences (Sociology, Psychology and Social Anthropology) are dynamic fields of theoretical knowledge and practical applications that influence and feed on one another. The key aim is the academic education of social scientists at an undergraduate and postgraduate level, who will then be in a position to apply theoretical and critical thinking in modern social situations.

Apart from their academic responsibilities, the School’s faculty members conduct significant research, in partnership with organisations in Greece and abroad, on the subject fields of Psychology, Sociology and Social Anthropology, with the ultimate aim being to equip the students with the intellectual tools of scientific thinking, and the necessary skills and qualities required in the modern labour market.